April Song Challenge – Day 1 – Song with colour in the title

I am going to cheat for my first post and talk about 2 songs with colour in. Both are very important to me.

The first song is

Whiter Shade of Pale by Procol Harem.

This is my dad’s favourite song of all time. He has requested it to be played at his funeral (morbid I know but I am glad that I will be able to abide by his wishes). I heard this song so many time when I was growing up that I would always stop and listen when ever I heard it and I do this head sway thing too. One of my lasting memories of this song is when my dad and I were doing some clearing at my nan’s house and we found an old battery powered radio. We thought the batteries were dead but dad turned it on anyway and the song that was playing was Whiter Shade of Pale. We were both shocked and we had a moment together before we went back to clearing.

The second song is

Silver Dream Machine by David Essex.

This song is by my mums favourite artist. She has loved David Essex for as long as I can remember and she took me to see him as one of our first concerts together.  We had spent the run up to the concert listening to his tapes so we knew all the words to all the songs. We have seen him multiple times since the first time (I was 16 and am closing in on 40 now) but none of his concerts have been like the first one. We always get loud when this song comes on. It is also the title of a movie that we can sit and watch all the way through together.

#aprilsongchallenge