#AtoZChallenge2017 Parenting After Loss, Day 17, Letter Q – Quiet Time.

This is something all parents need but something that doesn’t often happen in most homes. Toddlers like to make lots of noise for the sake of making noise and elder kids seem to like narrating their game playing so aren’t quiet either. Quiet time is important to anyone’s mental health. Mostly quiet time happens at night (not for the reason you are thinking đŸ˜‰ ) as the kids are sleeping.

I try to find at least 10 minutes a day to be still and silent. I often think of my Milo in this time though other mundane life stuff creeps in too. Having the quiet time helps me connect to my missing son and it grounds me for that day.

My most recent quiet time was just last night. My living children had had a great day with their grandparents and cousins but were very tired. We were supposed to be visiting my Milo as a family but getting my daughter in the car once was a nightmare so I wasn’t taking her out again until we got home for love nor money. My husband took the kids for a short drive around the village while I ran up to the graveyard. Once I got there I placed his new gifts on his headstone and took a step back to look at him. I haven’t visited at night for a while and definitely not since we added his new solar lights. They add just the right amount of illumination to his grave and make the place even more serene and calm. I just stood at the bottom of his grave and closed my eyes. I could almost feel him in my arms. Sadly this quiet time abruptly ended by my husband returning with the other kids and hearing them shout for me through the car windows.

 

Q.jpg

Leave a Reply

