Capture your grief – Day 5 – The unspoken (Normalising grief)

Today’s subject is a difficult one. It’s about sharing something you do to remember your lost child that might be strange or uncommon. It’s hard to find the right things to say. 

Something I do on a regular basis is I take a book and I go and spend the day just sitting at my Milo’s grave. It makes me feel calm and closer to him. In the summer months I take a picnic and the other kids join me for a while. 

I always look up, whisper goodnight and blow a kiss to my Milo just before I go to bed after checking on my eldest. 

I always stop and watch if I see a red kite (the bird) as I associate them with my Milo. There was a nesting pair at the hospital where he spent most of his life, and whenever I saw them I knew I was getting close to being able to hold him.

#captureyourgrief

Leave a Reply

